State of California
Office of Administrative Law

Inre: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
State Water Resources Control Board REGULATORY ACTION
Regulatory Action:

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and

Title 23, California Code of Regulations 11349.6

Adopt sections:
Amend section: 1062

Repeal sections: OAL Matter Number: 2016-0107-01E

OAL Matter Type: Emergency (E)

On December 1, 2015, the State Water Resources Control Board (the "Board") adopted
" Resolution 2015-0073, which revised by emergency regulations the water rights fee
schedule in section 1062 in title 23 of the California Code of Regulations to include a
new fee for temporary permits under Water Code section 1425 for the diversion of water
to underground storage during high flow events.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code. This emergency regulatory action is effective on
1/15/2016 and will remain in effect until revised by the Board pursuant to Water Code
section 1530.

Date: January 15, 2016

For: DEBRA M. CORNEZ
Director

Original: Thomas Howard
Copy:  Glen Osterhage
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Cal. Code Regs., tit. 23, § 1062

§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications.

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as

follows:
(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B}-and{G); (B) through (E), the fee
for a water right application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the
applicant seeks
to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed $498,665, plus
any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and (3).
(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria
for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality
Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the
fee shall be $1,000.
(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code
section 1425, other than a permit described in subparagraph (D) or (E) of this
subdivision, shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated
under subparagraph (A), above, or (ii) $2,000:.
(D) exceptthatthe The fee for an application for a temporary permit under Water
Code section 1425 for -at-a small hydroelectric generating facility that meets the
criteria for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental
Quality Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section
15328, shall be $1,000. The filing fee includes the annual permit fee if a
temporary permit is issued.
(E) The fee for an application for a temporary permit, or renewal of a temporary
permit, filed under Water Code section 1425 that is solely for purposes of
diverting water from high flow events to underground storage for later beneficial
use shall be $100 plus $1.00 for every 100 acre-feet of water the applicant
diverts to underground storage under the permit in excess of 10,000 acre-feet.
The portion of the application fee based on the amount diverted shall be due
within 30 days of actual diversion, and shall be accompanied by a report of the
amount actually diverted.
(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration
of fully appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee.
(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a
state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall
be added to the fee.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on
January 1, 2004.



(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable $256 initial review fee of $250 or
the amount of the application fee, whichever is less.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code.
Reference: Sections 1425, 1426, 1525, and-1535 and 1551, Water Code.



